Careers in Aviation - 6 Types of Pilot Certificates You Can Get

If you have moved up the ranks in Pilot licenses where you are now a qualified recreational Pilot you may want to consider at least going onto the next level. Out of the nine available levels to you then you would now be entering level 5, which would be the qualified private pilot.
These are the 6 types of pilot certificates explained:
Private Pilots 
This seems to be the most favored level. The requirements are a minimum age of 17, plus about 70 hours flight time, which includes 20 instructional hours and 10 solo hours. Successful completion of the proper requirements for a private pilot will afford you far less restrictions such as the ones that have been imposed up to now. You must acquire the required regulations as they pertain to jet, multi-engine, or helicopter just to name a few. You will be allowed passenger carrying, bad weather flying day or nigh. A Class III medical certificate is a requirement with renewing ever 24 to 36 months. The Pilot certificate must be re validated by way of CFI every 2 years. What you cannot do is...
Receive no compensation for flying other than sharing of flight expenses
You may be quite content to conclude your flight training at this point of becoming a Private Pilot but you do have an opportunity to advance your credentials with an add on such as Instrument rating.

Instrument Rating. 
With this extra training comes the privilege of being able to fly in adverse weather conditions such as haze, rain and low cloud ceilings. In these conditions, you must be adept in instrument flight rules as opposed to visual ground reference. If you plan to fly about 18,000 feet than the instrument, rating regulations are mandatory.
Pursuing this level means you will be receiving specialized training with an additional written, oral and flight test exams. Along with your current private pilot license, medical certificate you will need to be the command pilot in a minimum of 50 hours cross country flight time. In addition, you have to compel 40 hours simulated or actual instrument time, which includes 15 hours of instrument cross-country flights. If you do not use your skills on a regular basis, an instrument proficiency check will be in demand every 12 months.
If your love for flying were still going strong you perhaps are thinking you would like to earn a living at it. Then you are going to require a commercial pilot's license.

Commercial Pilots. 
You must be a minimum of 18 years of age, have 250 hours flight time, which must include 100 hours command pilot, 50 hours in an airplane plus 100 hours in a powered aircraft. Out of your 100 hours as command, pilot 50 of them must be cross-country. In addition, they must have either an instrument rating or a fly for hire daylight only holding to the VFR within a 50-mile radius of home airport. Remuneration may be accepted provide the Federal Aviation regulations are adhered to.

Certified Flight Instructors: 
Are given the authority to train and instruct in flying, issue flight reviews and make recommendations for student seeking flight tests. The CFI must be at least 18 years of age and possess a commercial pilot license plus instrument rating accreditations. Should you wish to become an advanced instructor you can become a CFII, which consists of a special instrument-rating certificate.

Airline Transport Pilot 
Once you have achieved a level you are amongst the top Pilot professions. Your qualifications would include your being a minimum of 23 years old, 1,500-flight time that would include 500 hours cross country, plus 100 hours night flying. In addition, 75 hours instrument rating. They must possess a Class I medical certificate renewable every 24 months with their flight review.

Designated Examiner 
The top of the ladder is holding a pilot license at this level. This means you are a qualified FAA designated pilot examiner.
Now, you can learn to fly in 10 days or less...

Article Source:


Post a Comment

Blog Archive